An Angry Diabetic

Lester Croppe never did come back for his follow-up two months ago. He did show up this week, however, with a big frown on his perpetually tanned, furrowed face.

I immediately got the sense that Lester was upset or unhappy, although I wasn’t sure why.

“It’s been a while”, I said tentatively. “Last time we talked I gave you an insulin pen to start getting those blood sugars down….”

“Before you go any further, I need to tell you something”, he interrupted.

“Yes?” I said.

“I didn’t like what you said last time about me having to go on the needle.”

“I can understand that”, I offered.

“So I got mad and decided to do something about it.”

I glanced at his vital signs. His weight was down almost twenty pounds and his blood pressure was better than I’d seen it before. I asked:

“What did you do?”

“I gave up drinking beer, cut back on snacking and made my servings smaller than before”, he thundered.

“Looks like it paid off!” I said. “What kind of blood sugars are you getting now?”

“Nothing over 220, and my fasting readings are perfect.” His stern face broke into a contented smile. “I wanted to prove that I didn’t need insulin”, he said, triumphantly.

“And prove it you did! Congratulations….”

“Thank you”, he said, offering his enormous, calloused right hand in a firm handshake. “At first, I got mad at you, but then I knew it was really my diabetes I was mad at.”

0 Responses to “An Angry Diabetic”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Bookmark and Share

Mailbox

contact @ acountrydoctorwrites.com
© A Country Doctor Writes 2008-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given.